“Well, it’s not always the same. I have good days and bad days.  And on my good days, I can, you know, almost pass for a normal person. On my bad days, I feel like I can’t find myself.  I’ve always been so defined by my intellect my language, my articulation, and now sometimes I can see the words hanging in front of me, and I can’t reach them, and I don’t know who I am, and I don’t know what I’m gonna lose next.” – Alice Howland played by Julianne Moore in Still Alice (2014, Richard Glatzer & Wash Westermoreland)

This scene is just one of the many scenes that show us the limitless talent of Julianne Moore. We see what it looks like when someone finally asks you the question: What’s it like? What does it actually feel like? (asked by her daughter, played by Kristen Stewart) Her slow start of answering the question, trying to find her words, her way of expressing herself, she takes her time because she knows this is a rare moment, that someone cares enough to ask. But then the execution of the last line, the part that has affected her the most, shows how much anger she holds for this disease that has taken away everything she’s worked hard for all her life in such a small time frame.

8ij

 

Leave a Reply

