Birth & Sexual Fluidity

Birth starts off right away with the voice over of a man explaining that if he lost his wife and the next day a bird landed on his windowsill and told him that it was his wife, he would believe it or at least he would want to even though, in the end, his wife is a bird.

birth_Enfilme_4l256

Birth (2004) is a film directed by Jonathan Glazer and stars Nicole Kidman as the lead. It is about a woman, Anna, who loses her husband, Sean. After ten years and finally fully recovering from Sean’s death, she is ready to marry again. As they begin their wedding planning, an unusual little boy named Sean comes into their lives claiming that he is her deceased husband. Anna resists at first but slowly gives into the comfort of her husband’s possible resurrection.

Some of you might disagree with me on this, but Birth is a justification for homosexuality. It’s a way of saying that love is love. Of course it’s an odd way of saying it but in the end when two people love each other, and consent is given, does it really matter what sex you are. Anna is blinded by the love she has for her former husband that she forgets Sean is only a young boy. This could be applied to any relationship out there.

Birth is a great argument for sexual fluidity.

3 thoughts on “Birth & Sexual Fluidity

  1. Hi – just stumbled across this. I watched Birth a while ago now, and I liked it a lot, but I’m interested to hear more about why you think it is a justification of homosexuality? I didn’t pick up on any homosexual undertones – and I’m unsure as to how it’s an argument for sexual fluidity either. I’m not sure there’s anything sexually attracting her to the boy, just wishful thinking for the love of her past to return. Would be interested to hear your views 🙂

    Like

    1. HI. I definitely do not think there were any homosexual undertones nor am I saying Glazer intended for it to be interpreted the way I did. My only argument here is that when you are in a position to explain how love is just love no matter the gender, Birth is a great example to put forward. Let’s forget the fact that it wasn’t Sean in the end, not to be vulgar but, Anna was purely in love with the person not the plumbing. That is exactly why it can be used to argue that love is just love. And that is also what I mean by sexuality being fluid in that you never know until it happens to you. Thanks for the question, I’m always up for a discussion! 🙂

      Like

      1. Fair enough, I definitely agree with your argument that love is the same no matter what gender and that sexuality is fluid. Very interesting to hear it applied to Birth, I would never have thought of that – I think Glazer would be pleased!

        Like

Leave a Reply

